I Can: A Book Review

From the whimsical artwork to the simple but truth-filled sentences, I Can by Kathryn O’Brien is a beautiful book illustrating to young children the truths of Philippians 4:13. I Can takes an approach to Philippians 4:13 that illustrates the full scope of the passage’s meaning, showing that with God, all things are truly possibly.

Using illustrations that young children can understand, O’Brien unpacks the truths of the passage and shows that God is a God who not only helps us do things through him but also loves us at the same time he is helping us. I Can points to deeper truths about God that both children and adults can appreciate.

“I can do everything through Christ, who gives…Gives grace. Gives gifts. Gives second chances. Gives life,” O’Brien’s book says (24-25).

I Can also shows young children that they have value in the eyes of God.

“There’s only one of me. No one else is like me. Unique. Special. Wonderfully made. Me. Even before I was born, He knew me,” O’Brien’s book states (29).

For the parents or caregivers of young children, I Can offers the opportunity for some quiet time reading aloud to children and teaching them truths of God’s Word. Children are also sure to be captivated by the book’s colorful illustrations.

978-1-4964-1117-4

*Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of I Can in exchange for my review.

Leave a Reply

